Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Recommendation

Book-blogger-1-768x768Book Blogger Appreciation Week is back, friends! Ana, Jenny, Heather, and Andi have taken over the reigns from Amy, who had to stop organizing the event in 2012 because it takes so much work. A lot has changed in both my blogging life and my life… life in the last four (!) years, so I’m excited to participate this year.

Today’s prompt is:

What have you read and loved because of a fellow blogger?

The most recent book that blew my mind and came to me from a fellow blogger was Louise O’Neill’s Only Ever Yours, which Ana at the Book Smugglers gave a glowing review. I actually hadn’t heard anything about it until it was on the Book Smugglers.

And it is—it is so dark and so bleak and so good and so necessary. I don’t want to say that the subject matter is so delicate that I would only read this if someone I trusted recommended it, because feminist dystopian fiction is a very real genre. But it was really nice to read a review of the book from a quarter that got what O’Neill was trying to lay down, whether or not the blogger liked it or not. (Ana liked it, obviously.) One of the things that I really appreciate about book blogging is that you get a taste for other people’s tastes, which makes recommendations a lot less fraught. I know that I can trust the Book Smugglers for feminist-minded sf, and I’m not just saying that because they let me yell about Knightriders for Smugglivius.

Or maybe my books to read spreadsheet has just spiraled so far out of control that adding recommendations is no longer a source of anxiety for me. I’m not going to read everything on that list before I die, let me tell you that right now.

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Recommendation

  1. Yes! Knowing the personality of a blogger can really, really help me to decide if I’m going to give a try to a book that I have reservations about. When Ana (of Things Mean a Lot — but Book Smugglers too, actually!) says a book that involves sexual assault is good and worth bothering about, I’m miles more likely to read it than if I read a glowing professional review of it. (Or if you said it was good, or Renay or Memory…)

Your Thoughts?

