Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Introduction

Book-blogger-1-768x768

Book Blogger Appreciation Week is back, friends! Ana, Jenny, Heather, and Andi have taken over the reigns from Amy, who had to stop organizing the event in 2012 because it takes so much work. A lot has changed in both my blogging life and my life… life in the last four (!) years, so I’m excited to participate this year.

Today’s prompt is:

Introduce yourself by telling us about five books that represent you as a person or your interests/lifestyle.

I thought this was going to be an immensely difficult question, honestly, but when I sat down to make my short list, I realized that picking five books to represent myself wasn’t the same as picking my five favorite books of top notch quality (although all five on this list are of top notch quality). It’s like how my favorite musical is Rock of Ages. It’s not a very good musical, but it is my favorite, and you will glean a lot about me from that fact.

Either that or I have managed to evolve into a recognizable brand over the last four years: your friendly neighborhood weird queer fannish auntie.

So, in no particular order:

Gossamer Axe
by Gael Baudino

Gossamer Axe is a queer pagan rock and roll feminist fantasy published in 1990. If that doesn’t sound totally rad to you, then we are very different people.

The Sundering
by Jacqueline Carey

Okay, this is a cheat, because The Sundering is a duet, composed of Banewreaker and Godslayer, but it ultimately functions as a single novel—much like The Lord of the Rings, which it beautifully deconstructs.

Textual Poachers
by Henry Jenkins

I’m a reader-response theorist by training and a fan by inclination, and Jenkins’ first major book on media studies was a major touchstone for me in college while I was writing my thesis. I remain over the moon that my personal copy of this book is both from a thrift store I worked at in high school and has the original cover featuring the cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation as knights.

The Magician’s Book
by Laura Miller

I’ve cooled on Miller in recent years, through no fault of her own—I’ve just had to seriously assess my pop culture intake, what with that darned day job and everything. But The Magician’s Book, wherein she explores her relationship with The Chronicles of Narnia, is still a very important book to me and a fantastic example of how making criticism personal makes it even better.

Let’s Talk About Love: A Journey to the End of Taste
by Carl Wilson

A writer’s quest to find out why Celine Dion is so successful and yet so critically reviled ends up becoming both a call for dialogue-focused criticism that cops to its inherent subjectivity and a beautiful treatise on the nature of love. This is one of my favorite books of criticism that’s also kind of about criticism.

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Introduction

  1. Fascinating list! I am intrigued! (It’s lunchtime and I’m also intrigued by your delicious-looking header image, too!) Star Trek holodeck/holosuite episodes used to annoy me, but then I learned to appreciate the meta-ness of them. I came to Star Trek fandom late in life, with Voyager as my gateway show.

Your Thoughts?

