Booking Through Thursday: Ideal

btt2

I want you to think about your ideal reading experience. Think about the location. (Your bed? Favorite chair? The beach? Indoors or outdoors?). Think about the sounds. (Is there music playing? Happy children playing in the background? Utter silence?) Is there a snack or beverage nearby? Are you alone or with friends/family (presumably being quiet enough for you to read in peace)? What kind of lighting is there? Are you dressed in something ultra-comfy? What’s your position? Curled up? Stretched out?

Now … describe it so that we can all feel exactly how perfect it is … and why.

A room with a lot of windows, a lot of natural light. Definitely not my bed; that is for sleeping only. It’s late afternoon, so the sun is still out, but as I progress in my book, it sets, making me turn on a light. I’m warm enough, which usually means a blanket, or perhaps a friendly dog or cat on my belly (provided I’ve taken my allergy medication). I’m on a couch or chaise: something I can spread out on and keep fidgeting on. I might have an apple.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Ideal

  1. A comfortable window seat would be ideal for me, but I agree — lots of light is important, and a blanket, and a table nearby where I can put some food and a drink. And maybe some quiet music playing? And it would smell like something nice also? Maybe because there were flowers just outside the window? That would be great.

    (I am basically picturing the library in Beauty and the Beast, I’ll be honest. While adding a few elements that would particularly please me.)

Your Thoughts?

