The Week in Review: June 12th, 2016

Out and About: Dog

I’m still exhausted from the week that was, so I’m not going to be very chatty today.

Links

Kelly J. Baker’s piece about exploitative working conditions in academia is eye-opening.

Florence Kasumba, most recently seen as Black Panther’s Security Chief, has joined Wonder Woman as the Amazon Senator Acantha.

POUND THE ALARM: John Boyega will be the lead in Pacific Rim 2, playing Stacker Pentecost’s son.

Aja Romano’s tired of defending fandom—she wants to celebrate it instead. All last week, with that Birth Movies Death article doing the hideous rounds, I was kind of already at this point. I’ve been in fandom for sixteen years at this point, and I no longer really have the time, energy, or inclination to defend it to people who seem already bent on hating it. Perhaps I’m suffering from a severe aversion to confrontation, but I’ll be here in my corner, kids, doing what I please.

One Look Reverse Dictionary lets you look up words by definition. Useful!

The all-female Ocean’s Eleven remake has locked Cate Blanchett, and is now looking at adding Mindy Kaling and Helena Bonham Carter. YES, PLEASE.

Carrie Fisher is now writing an advice column for The Guardian, which is kind of a dream come true.

Mommy blogger Michelle Villemaire corrects yellowface by taking whitewashed Hollywood roles and photographing herself as the characters.

Acquisitions

Books
Purchased: None
Added: None

Films
Purchased: None
Added: Space Camp (via io9)

4 thoughts on “The Week in Review: June 12th, 2016

  1. Cate Blanchett: Good or just tall? (I think she’s good actually! But the above was perhaps my favorite running gag in the new season of Kimmy Schmidt, and I could not resist repeating it. :p)

    Also, I’m sorry you’ve had a lousy week! I hope your upcoming one is better — sending love and good vibes!

Your Thoughts?

