The Week in Review: April 10th, 2016

H&M: Necklace Display//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

I went to go see Batman V. Superman: Grimdark Grimdark Grimdark for my birthday yesterday, because I am nothing if not a lover of schadenfreude. I’ll talk more about it tomorrow, but I just need to tell you it was so grim and nihilistic and cruel that I had to go home and watch Star Wars: The Force Awakens just to remind myself what joy and emotional impact in cinema were.

I wrote a history of Star Wars slash and, specifically, Han/Luke for Lady Business! Who wants to learn about how Lucasfilm actually approved the first Star Wars slash fic?

I shared my favorite media of March over at Lady Business with my fellow editors.

Links

The AV Club’s oral history of Comedy Central is surprisingly fascinating!

Nellie Bowles’ “Food tech is just men rebranding what women have done for decades” is both self-explanatory and essential.

Related to the above: allegations against food startup Hampton Creek paint a strange picture of its internal workings.

Jam of the week: Bad Lip Reading’s “Bushes of Love,” which is both funny and strangely poignant.

Jason Torchinsky proposes that the R0 droids in Star Wars: The Force Awakens are actually R units that have all been repaired with the same head. I’m a sucker for droid meta, who knew?

This profile of the Dog Agency, a new talent agency for Instagram-famous pups, is bonkers.

Terrible news: a judge has dismissed Kesha’s claims of abuse, which means that she has to start back at zero for her case against Dr. Luke.

Hot Topic is selling a collection of DC Comics’ Bombshells cosplay!

Cloak and Dagger are getting a TV show.

The Rogue One trailer is live, and I am living for it. io9 breaks down everything you missed in the trailer.

Cap/Bucky shippers—the awesome fanzine Brooklyn is now available as a pay-what-you-want .pdf! Avail yourself—I have a print copy and love it.

Friends of the blog Jenny and Memory share what young adult novels they’re excited for this spring over at Shiny New Books.

Hamilton critics are few and far between, so I actually enjoyed reading this interview with historian Lyra Monteiro.

Phil Noto drew an unofficial poster for Rogue One that looks, unsurprisingly, awesome.

http://cache.vevo.com/assets/html/embed.html?video=USUV71600941&autoplay=0

The music video for Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Boy Problems” is a wonderland of aggressive young femininity, right down to a quartet of girls performing dead girl and mourners while choking back laughter.

Here’s how to build Rey’s staff for cosplay!

Dragon*Con is launching its own genre awards!

Acquisitions

Books
Purchased: None
Added: The Tiger’s Daughter by K. Arsenault Rivera (via Tor.com)

Films
Purchased: None
Added: None

4 thoughts on “The Week in Review: April 10th, 2016

  1. Did we know that Forest Whitaker was in Rogue One, and I just forgot? Because I definitely saw him in the trailer and thought “huh that guy looks just like Forest Whitaker but he’s probably not.”

    I was really, reeeeally bothered by that Hamilton interview’s saying that Philippa Soo “reads as white.” That’s, like — super insulting? To Philippa Soo? If I were Philippa Soo and I read that, I’d have to seriously restrain myself from sending that person a big bag o’ glitter. (Glitter ruins lives.)

    (Unrelated matter, the women of Hamilton are preposterous angel-voice geniuses. In my next life I want to have a voice like one of those people.)

  2. I definitely take the point that Hamilton’s casting, as much as it works as a form of meta commentary, doesn’t erase the fact that the show doesn’t include the stories of POC who were around at the time during various things. And of course, it’s possible to love the show and appreciate the former while still being aware of and talking about the latter. But that comment about Philippa Soo “reading as white” (and the original essay says the same about LMM) is just… NO.

Your Thoughts?

