Mixtape: I Wish It Was Christmas Today

And a very pop, kitsch, and eighties holiday to you as well. (Warning: mixtape includes non-eighties songs. I forgave them; won’t you?)

“Last Christmas,” Wham!

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart
But the very next day, you gave it away
This year, to save me from tears
I’ll give it to someone special

“Wonderful Christmastime,” Paul McCartney

The party’s on
The spirits up
We’re here tonight
And that’s enough

“Christmas Wrapping,” The Waitresses

“Bah, humbug” no, that’s too strong
‘Cause it is my favorite holiday
But all this year’s been a busy blur
Don’t think I have the energy

 “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town,” Bruce Springsteen

He sees you when you’re sleeping
He knows if you’re awake
He knows if you’ve been bad or good
(So you’d)
Better be good for goodness sake

“Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays,” N*SYNC

It’s a wonderful feeling
Feel the love in the room from the floor to the ceiling
It’s that time of year
Christmas time is here and with the blessings from above

“All I Want for Christmas is You,” Mariah Carey

And everyone is singing
I hear those sleigh bells ringing
Santa, won’t you bring me the one I really need?
Won’t you please bring my baby to me?

“Jingle Bell Rock,” Hall & Oates

What a bright time, it’s the right time
To rock the night away
Jingle bell time is a swell time
To go gliding in a one-horse sleigh

“Christmas (Baby Please Come Home),” U2

They’re singing deck the halls
But it’s not like Christmas at all
I remember when you were here
And all the fun we had last year

“Christmas Treat,” Julian Casablancas

I don’t care about anything
Except hearing those sleigh bells a’ring-a-ding, ding
I wish it was Christmas today
In the good old U.S. of A.

“Do They Know It’s Christmas,” Band Aid

It’s Christmastime; there’s no need to be afraid
At Christmastime, we let in light and we banish shade
And in our world of plenty we can spread a smile of joy
Throw your arms around the world at Christmastime

Your Thoughts?

