A Programming Note

star trek movie ticket

Starting this week, you and I, dear reader, will be going to the movies every Friday.

The Literary Omnivore began as a book blog and will end as a book blog. It is, after all, my living reading journal, and I’m certainly never going to stop reading. But when your Movies to Watch spreadsheet rivals your Books to Read spreadsheet, you spend your days off at the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, and you flip out over the fact that Turner Classic Movies lets you stream selections, it’s time to face facts: you’re a cinephile.

Of course, I’ve always been a cinephile: it was my viewing of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring that put me on the path towards becoming the loud, fannish book blogger that you read before you. It’s only recently that I’ve begun to feel like I have the vocabulary, context, and critical background to engage with films in a way similar to the way I’ve always engaged with the written word. I’ve often felt like I’ve been cheating on my books by spending some of my precious downtime watching a film. But I love doing both, and I refuse to feel guilty about doing what I love. Reviewing every film I watch from now on, instead of just films based on books, will take care of that guilt in one fell stroke and help me hone my critical faculties in a new field.

So—I’ll save you a seat.

4 thoughts on “A Programming Note

Your Thoughts?

