Mixtape: Didn’t Even Know Your Name

Because Phil Collins muttering softly is my preferred way to cry about Steve Rogers’ sadness. This is also 25% Elissa’s fault.

I was aiming for a Genesis/Phil Collins jukebox musical version of Captain America: The Winter Soldier (“I Don’t Care Anymore” would have been Black Widow triumphant at the end), but it ended up being about Steve, sadness, and Bucky, which is pretty much all I’m interested in at the moment. Hit it.

“Land of Confusion,” Genesis

Now did you read the news today
They say the danger’s gone away
But I can see the fire’s still alight
There burning into the night.

“That’s All,” Genesis

I could say day, and you’d say night
tell me it’s black when I know that it’s white
s’always the same, it’s just a shame, that’s all

“Take Me Home,” Phil Collins

I’ve got no far horizons
I don’t wish upon a star
They don’t think that I listen
Oh but I know who they are

“In the Air Tonight,” Phil Collins

I’ve seen your face before, my friend
But I don’t know if you know who I am

“Tonight, Tonight, Tonight,” Genesis

It’s like a helter skelter, going down and down, round and round
But just get it away from me.

Because tonight, tonight, tonight,
We’re gonna make it right

“That’s Just the Way It Is,” Phil Collins

All day long he was fighting for you
And he didn’t even know your name
Young men come and young men go
But life goes on just the same

“Long Long Way To Go,” Phil Collins

While I sit here trying to think of things to say
Someone lies bleeding in a field somewhere
So it would seem we’ve still got a long long way to go
I’ve seen all I wanna see today

2 thoughts on “Mixtape: Didn’t Even Know Your Name

Your Thoughts?

