The Week in Review: February 23rd, 2014

Black and Read: SFWA Grand Masters Anthologies

Working, reading, writing: you know the drill, ducklings. I’m just pretty drained and getting used to my new work schedule, honestly.

Links

tumblr user lettherebedoodles has turned a handful of Disney princes (and heroes) into ladies! Super-cute. And I guess I can add Phoebe to my costume list!

Foz Meadows adds pictorial evidence to author Juliet E. McKenna’s plea for “If you like George R. R. Martin…” displays in bookstores to be remotely diverse. This hits particularly close to home, since I’m a bookseller (albeit on an infrequent basis at the moment). When I’m working at the bookstore, I do what I can to make our speculative fiction section welcoming to all people, which ranges from bringing people over to the section, recommending books with crossover appeal, and simply having a female presence in the area.

Riese at Autostraddle contrasts and compares the coming out narratives of Ellen Page and Elle DeGeneres:

This country loves to pass a few laws and then declare everything officially fixed forever. This country has a short memory. It belittles the struggles of the disempowered and we see it happen every day when people who experience racism or sexism are usually told by alleged allies that their own account of their own oppression is irrelevant and overdramatic. That dismissal from alleged allies hasn’t happened on a large scale to the LGBT community quite yet, but it could get there sooner than you think, and that could happen before “the LGBT community as a whole” has really even begun to give the issues of queers of color, trans* people, and all overlaps therein, their proper attention.

The trailer for Guardians of the Galaxy is here! This is a pretty much unknown property for me, but I have been dreaming that Starlord is a nickname that will never catch on, so I’m happy there. It looks like a nice throwback to the retro future imagined in the late seventies after Star Wars, which would be a nice flavor contrast to Asgard. (Also: Quill’s “sex crime” is having sex with a duchess on a planet where it’s illegal for royalty and commoners to have sex. I am breathing easier, but I do want that explained in the film.)

The James Tiptree Jr. Award is given to “a work of science fiction or fantasy that explores and expands gender roles. The award seeks out work that is thought-provoking, imaginative, and perhaps even infuriating. It is intended to reward those writers who are bold enough to contemplate shifts and changes in gender roles, a fundamental aspect of any society.” This year, the winner is N. A. Sulway’s Rupetta, and the shortlist includes Ancillary Justice (which I need to get one) and Janelle Monae’s The Electric Lady.

The Archive of Our Own celebrated one million fanworks on the 15th! Go, fandom, go!

Meryl Streep may be joining the cast of Suffragette.

Mission Control is a television show starring Krysten Ritter about a 1960s NASA engineer struggling with the macho astronaut assigned to her project, Anchorman-style. This could go either way, but I hope it turns out amazing.

Acquisitions
Purchased: None
Added: Rupetta by N. A. Sulway (via the James Tiptree Jr. Award)

2 thoughts on “The Week in Review: February 23rd, 2014

  1. I think it was an odd choice for the first Guardians of the Galaxy trailer to show almost nothing of the plot of the movie. Usually teasers are for establishing tone, and trailers are for plot, right? I’m interested in the movie because I like Chris Pratt, but this trailer didn’t make me want to run out and see it. I want another trailer with more plot summarizing.

    • I think that’s a pretty good distinction for teaser and trailer, but Guardians of the Galaxy never received a teaser, so I think this one is pulling double duty. Trailer #2 might do more about the story, but the characters are so obscure that I think production wanted to highlight its quirkiness versus attempting to make us care.

Your Thoughts?

