Booking Through Thursday: Returns

btt2

What book(s) do you find yourself going back to? Beloved children’s classics? Favorites from college? Something that touched you and just makes you long to visit?

(Because, doesn’t everybody have at least one book they would like to curl up with, even if they don’t make a habit of rereading books? Even if they maybe don’t even have the time to visit and just think back longingly?)

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not that much of a rereader; I’m like a shark, I have to keep going forward. Nonetheless, every time I come across a copy of The Lord of the Rings, I always open it to a random page, read a few paragraphs, and feel better about my place in the universe. And since I’m back where my collection of out-of-print American editions of The Lord of the Rings is, that’s a lot.

10 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Returns

  1. Lol, I am the same way. I don’t like to back track unless Harry Potter is in the title. I like that you said when you read a few words and you feel better about your place in the universe. I always wondered what it was about just making it through a few chapters that made me so happy – but that must be it! Well put!

  2. Sherlock Holmes. I never get tired of re-reading those stories, and even though I can quote most of them extensively, somehow I always enjoy coming back to them. And I own a ridiculous number of different editions.

    • I’m sure your collection is quite astonishing! I’ve yet to finish the canon (one more collection!), so I haven’t started rereading in any sense, but I do find that they have that rereadability quality…

  3. I know that feeling so well. Though I am a rereader, there are certain books I only need to read a random page of to feel as though everything is settling into place. That’s how you know the mark of a special book – something that will always speak to you and will always make everything better.

Your Thoughts?

