The Sunday Salon: Food Blogs

Have I mentioned Wolfboy on this blog? I’ve definitely mentioned him on Twitter. Wolfboy is my nephew (so nicknamed due to his astonishing size and presumed lycanthropy). I show him off constantly, assuming others will find stories of his physical prowess just as interesting as I do. I’ve decided that I’m going to try my best to bake him a birthday cake every year, starting with this weekend, which marks his first birthday. My brother and my sister-in-law are trying to keep him sugar-free and gluten-free for a little bit, which made finding and adapting recipes a pleasurable challenge. The quest sent me hitting up all my favorite food blogs, and I thought I’d share a few with you this bright Sunday morning. I’ve highlighted some fictional food blogs, but these are just the regular kind.

smitten kitchen

The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Deb Perelman is everything. The only thing I asked for for Christmas was a copy of her new cookbook, pictured above. I then immediately bookmarked every recipe I wanted to try, which is how I discovered that I adore sweet potatoes and sweet potato fries. Essentially, Smitten Kitchen nails everything I want in a food blog—a balance between personal stories and recipes, lots of process photos, unfussy and accessible ingredients, and, of course, delicious food. For Christmas, I made her bittersweet chocolate and pear cake, and my mom is still trying to trick me into making it for other people’s birthdays so she can have some.

Serious Eats

Tortilla chip tasting

Serious Eats has a lot of content—between the contributors and the fantastic community, it covers everything from taste tests, just the right way to imitate a Chik-Fil-A chicken sandwich (so I no longer have to eat my biscuits in shame), and, of course, tons and tons of delicious recipes. I perk up for almost every new installment of the columns Cereal Eats, Cookie Monster… well, all of their columns, really. Plus, one of their contributors is local to Atlanta, which means I occasionally get recommendations I can actually use! Given how New York-centric a lot of this stuff can be, I appreciate that angle.

Candy Blog

Skittles Candy

Cybele celebrated her blog’s eighth (!) birthday last week. As the name suggests, Candy Blog reviews candy—chocolatey, sweet, and everything in-between. Ever wondered about all the kinds of Kit-Kats available in Japan? Cybele’s got you covered. As I’ve started cooking more and more, I’ve started trying to eat mindfully, and looking at candy from a very selective angle is a great way to change the way I see candy. (I used to obsessively eat gummi bears. I still obsessively eat sour gummi worms, but in a much more healthy, appreciative way.) Plus, I get introduced to candy I never knew existed and probably wouldn’t seek out otherwise.

This week… well, I’m graduating soon and I feel like I’m being pulled in about eight different directions, so I’m trying to differentiate reactionary desires to be a hermit with actual needs to be on my own. I’ve got a lot of work to do today to make up for the past few days, but it was worth it. Today, I’ll be celebrating my nephew’s birthday and getting to brass tacks, with perhaps a reward of another Bond film at the end of the day. Yes, that sounds lovely.

This week’s links:

Do you have a favorite food blog?

6 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Food Blogs

  1. Thank you for these! I’m always on the lookout for new recipes but never really knew where to start with food blogs. And thank you also for the Dove link – the ad made me uncomfortable and I’d see nothing but praise for it so far.

    Happy Birthday to Wolfboy😀

  2. Aw, Wolfboy is lucky to have you! Hopefully if you ever run into him during a full moon, he’ll remember all the cakes you made him over the years, and spare your life.

Your Thoughts?

