Booking Through Thursday: Language

btt2

I saw a Latin edition of “The Hobbit” last time I was at the bookstore… Do you read any foreign languages? Do you ENJOY reading in other languages?

No, I can’t. I have what I consider a right to French, as the only person in my immediate family who doesn’t speak it (and one of the few in my extended family who doesn’t), but I can only pick out a few words and get gists, not read in it by any stretch of the imagination. I get iffy about translations, though, although that’s of course the only way I can read certain texts and I heartily appreciate them: the act of translation itself is a creative one, so I’m going through one more obstacle between me and the author’s intent.

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Language

Your Thoughts?

