The Literary Horizon: The Book of Fires

thelithorizon

The Book of Fires by Jane Borodale

borodalebookoffires

Reminiscent of Year of Wonders, a captivating debut novel of fireworks, fortune, and a young woman’s redemption 

It is 1752 and seventeen-year-old Agnes Trussel arrives in London pregnant with an unwanted child. Lost and frightened, she finds herself at the home of Mr. J. Blacklock, a brooding fireworks maker who hires Agnes as an apprentice. As she learns to make rockets, portfires, and fiery rain, she slowly gains his trust and joins his quest to make the most spectacular fireworks the world has ever seen.

Jane Borodale offers a masterful portrayal of a relationship as mysterious and tempestuous as any of the Brontës conceived. Her portrait of 1750s London is unforgettable, from the grimy streets to the inner workings of a household where little is as it seems. Through it all, the clock is ticking, for Agnes’s secret will not stay secret forever.

Deeply atmospheric and intimately told from Agnes’s perspective, The Book of Fires will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Waters, Sheri Holman, and Michel Faber.

via Amazon

One of the things I love about my reading list is how it lets me examine my past as if it were rings in a tree trunk—this book was added because I wanted to learn more about film, this because I read Bitchfest, so on and so forth. This book is one of the recommendations I picked up during my post-high school trip to England and Ireland. Following my mother through an enormous department store in London, I stumbled across a few book displays and immediately took notes. This was one of those notes. I am tentative, however—Borodale ended up giving a positive blurb to A Discovery of Witches, which… well, let’s just say I didn’t care for it

Fleur Fisher at Fleur Fisher in her world found it lacked character development and Agnes’ concealment of her pregnancy was unbelievable. Helen at She Reads Novels disliked the narrative style—first person present tense—and couldn’t engage with any of the characters, although she points out that the final chapters are quite good. Heather at Books and Quilts found it “thought provoking“. Beth at Beth Fish Reads enjoyed it, although she felt it could have used an epilogue.

The Book of Fires was published on January 21, 2010.

4 thoughts on “The Literary Horizon: The Book of Fires

  1. I rarely look at who’s blurbed a book, because too often I’ve found that authors whose writing I like frequently admire authors whose writing I don’t know. Similarly, I’ve noticed that my favorite writers are rarely my favorite anthologists, and vice versa.

      • Editors of anthologies. Short stories are different than novels, but I frequently like both from the same author. But an author whose writing I love often picks stories I really don’t enjoy when they edit anthologies. It’s not that they’re always way off, but authors frequently admire styles that are very different from their own, and if I like one style, I don’t always like another. Maybe I’m odd like that!

      • Well, writing and editing are two quite different skillsets. Plus, anthologies, given the amount of authors involved, tend a lot more towards being uneven than most. And I think there is something in the idea that authors that admires other writers who do things that they don’t do.

Your Thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s