Booking Through Thursday: Current Events

btt2

What are you reading right now? (And, is it good? Would you recommend it? How did you choose it?)

I just finished Bitchfest, which I loved, and now I’m onto Ronlyn Domingue’s The Mapmaker’s War. I’m not sure if it’s good or if I would recommend it yet—I’m only twenty pages in! I do need to step up my reading this weekend, so I’ll hopefully finish it then. Over the past few months, I’ve been getting more e-mails about receiving books for review; I’m not sure why, but I think it dates back to my review of The Song of the Vikings. I’m usually extremely cautious and decline most of them—I don’t want to waste anyone’s time and resources if I think that a book and I aren’t going to get on. In fact, most of my review copies come from NetGalley, because it’s a lot easier to select the stuff you think you might be interested in. (If only NetGalley accurately reflected the release date for books!) Plus, I have hundreds of library books to get to that I am one-hundred percent interested in. But, every once in a while, I do accept one. The Mapmaker’s War is fantasy, but it’s also written in the second person, a style I personally dislike, but the advance praise convinced me to give it a shot. Of course, the advance praise also includes a blurb from Deborah Harkness, so that could go either way.

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Current Events

  1. Oh how cool! I had no idea Ronlyn Domingue had a new book out! (I presume it’s new? Newish? I haven’t heard of it before, in any case.) I hope you are loving it by the time this comment posts. Ronlyn Domingue is from my home state and thus I support her career and endeavors. Yay.

Your Thoughts?

