Booking Through Thursday: Soundtrack

btt2

Do you ever try to pair music with the book you’re reading? Play the movie soundtrack while reading the original book? Find mood music that fits with your story?

Well, yeah. I’m from fandom, where this phenomenon is called fanmixing (and extends to all texts), and I was introduced to it through a bunch of Harry Potter fanmixes. I’m not a very musical person myself, so when I listen to music, I’m constantly imposing other texts on it; the only songs where that doesn’t happen is “Layla” and “Because the Night”. I wouldn’t say that I actively try to do this, because I rarely do it while I’m reading and I constantly do it whenever I listen to music, which is whenever I have to walk somewhere farther than the bathroom down the hall.

A small sampling of current and favorite between music and books include “Love is Blindness” for The Great Gatsby, as inspired by the upcoming film’s trailer, “Marchin’ On” for Harry Potter, Little Talks” for Sherlock Holmes (while Watson thinks Holmes is dead), “Heavy Cross” for Thor (specifically, Amora the Enchantress—I’m always trying to frame her thing for Thor as something that’s not the key to defeating her), “Set the Fire to the Third Bar” for A Princess of Mars, and I have a whole playlist for Charles Xavier and Erik Lensherr (anchored by, of course, “Rolling in the Deep“), as well as Mary Morstan’s setlist, should she ever appear as a guitar-playing barista in Elementary. A girl can dream, right?

8 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Soundtrack

  1. I don’t tend to conflate music and books, apart from two things: when I was kid, reading Lord of the Rings for the first time, I also listened to Andrew Lloyd-Webbers ‘Variations’ (his variations on the famous Caprice by Paganini). Now, when I re-read the Lord of the Rings, I don’t think of ‘Variations’, but whenever I listen to the music, I immediately think of the book. I think that’s the only case for which I do that, though.

Your Thoughts?

