Booking Through Thursday: Winter

btt2

It’s the depth of winter here where I live right now … what books do you like to read when it’s snowy and white? What books do you read to evoke a real feeling of winter (good or bad)?

Well, it may be winter in Georgia, but that just means that it is wet and even occasionally cold. We’ve had a couple days where it’s been warm recently, so I’ve never really experienced a winter that’s snowy and white.

I’m also beyond awful at seasonal reading; I never read anything at the right time. However, I did just finish up Wuthering Heights, and doing that in the midst of several overcast, drizzly, cold days was a delightful way to finish that off.

10 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Winter

  1. I started a tradition when I was 12 that whenever it snowed here in Georgia I would read Fritz Leiber’s story Stardock, which is about Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser climbing a mountain and adventuring in the ice wastes. I still do it all these years later. And I still get a big kick out of it.

  2. I love to read Arthur Ransome’s Winter Holiday when it’s winter time – all those fantastic descriptions of skating and exploring, and the houseboat being frozen in… Lovely.

Your Thoughts?

