The Literary Horizon: My Ideal Bookshelf

thelithorizon

My Ideal Bookshelf by Thessaly La Force

laforceidealbookshelf

The books that we choose to keep –let alone read– can say a lot about who we are and how we see ourselves. In MY IDEAL BOOKSHELF, dozens of leading cultural figures share the books that matter to them most; books that define their dreams and ambitions and in many cases helped them find their way in the world. Contributors include Malcolm Gladwell, Thomas Keller, Michael Chabon, Alice Waters, James Patterson, Maira Kalman, Judd Apatow, Chuck Klosterman, Miranda July, Alex Ross, Nancy Pearl, David Chang, Patti Smith, Jennifer Egan, and Dave Eggers, among many others. With colorful and endearingly hand-rendered images of book spines by Jane Mount, and first-person commentary from all the contributors, this is a perfect gift for avid readers, writers, and all who have known the influence of a great book.

via Amazon

I am not a collector (or, less generously, a hoarder) of books; I am a curator of them. The books I keep on my bookshelf are not books I’ve been meaning to read (that’s what the closet’s for), but my library, with carefully selected books that mean and continue to mean something to me. This is a philosophy I’ve forged on my own, outside of my parents’ influence. Even though it’s fairly common, I still thrill when I meet others who share my attitude towards personal libraries, so this is a no-brainer. Plus, gorgeous art books are always welcome at my floating domicile.

Kate are booksaremyfavouriteandbest loved it, pointing out that not all selections are passionate—some are quite calculating (totally true). Jennifer at 5MinutesforBooks.com also enjoyed it, although she points out that the included essays are broad rather than specific. The proprietor at Of Books and Reading quite enjoyed it, pointing out the quality of Mount’s artwork. The proprietor at 52 books enjoyed finding similar choices in creatives that you’ve never heard of before, which I admit is a delightful prospect.

My Ideal Bookshelf was published on November 13, 2012.

Your Thoughts?

