Booking Through Thursday: Quick!

Quick–what are you reading right now? (Other than this question on this website, of course.) Would you recommend it? What’s it about?

Luckily I’m a literature student, or this would be a very quick answer indeed.

At the moment, I’m reading Virginia Woolf’s Orlando for pleasure. I’m only a hundred or so pages in and I am enjoying it, but I’m also waiting for Orlando to switch sexes. (I’ve seen the film version with Tilda Swinton, which was… interesting, but I never got it together enough to actually review it for the blog.) For class, I’m reading Iola Leroy, one of the first novels published by an African-American woman, and I do need to start on Beloved Sisters and Loving Friends, a collection of letters between two American women of color in the 1800s, for my history class. I also need to read Misreading Jane Eyre for my senior thesis, which I’m going to do this weekend.  An Old-Fashioned Girl is on the backburner somewhere, but I’ll probably try to finish it when I have a chance, since I’m starting to crave some Sherlock Holmes—I suppose it’s the weather. (Although it turned out quite hot yesterday, which I didn’t appreciate, as I had to walk down to the local music store to fetch a preorder.) I’ve just put the audiobook of Watership Down on hold at the library, so hopefully, that’ll be coming in soon.

11 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Quick!

    • Well, the books on my desk are being awful tempting…

      Woolf isn’t scary! I do tend to just hurl myself at difficult authors with the idea that it’s better to jump into cold water then get adjusted gradually, and while that doesn’t always work, it’s working with Orlando. Give it go! (And if not, give the film version with Tilda Swinton a go!)

  1. Pingback: Review: Orlando « The Literary Omnivore

Your Thoughts?

