Book Blogger Appreciation Week: The Week in Review

Share a highlight of this year’s BBAW. Whether it’s a blog you discovered or a book you’re going to read or a way you felt refreshed, this is the day to celebrate the week!

I wish I had been a bit more active this week, but school, work, and rehearsal scheme against me, as they often do; it’s the reason I always schedule posts in advance! I have been enjoying myself and enjoying finding new blogs to read, though, even if it’ll take me a while to get around to giving them the attention they deserve.

But I think the highlight of this week, besides the love and support pouring from every corner of the wonderful book blogging community, was this quote from Teresa’s Wednesday post:

Another thing I love about book blogging is that it’s open to anyone with a computer and an Internet connection. To be a book blogger, you don’t need a literature degree, you don’t need to provide a list of qualifications, and you don’t have to be part of the New York literary scene. All you need is an opinion and a willingness to write it down. Maybe not everyone will like what you write, but with time, perseverance, and a little good luck, you’ll probably find at least a few people who are interested. I love that in the book blogging world you can find academics taking reading suggestions from high school students and accountants sharing literary insights with attorneys. That kind of level playing field is all too rare.

I apply critical theory wherever I go, over the cries of people saying “it’s just a movie!” or “don’t worry about it” or “not everything has to mean something” (someone actually said that to me, that is not a generic example). For me, it’s a way of life, and one that is accessible to everyone, not just academics. What Teresa has wrote above is brilliantly and blindingly true; here, in this space, we can examine books freely, sinking our teeth where we will, handing them off to each other, and having discussions where (le gasp!) we might not agree with each other but we respect each other’s points of view.

That’s not only the highlight of my week, I think it’s the highlight of my blogging experience. Shine on, you crazy diamonds.

25 thoughts on “Book Blogger Appreciation Week: The Week in Review

  1. “I apply critical theory wherever I go, over the cries of people saying “it’s just a movie!” or “don’t worry about it” or “not everything has to mean something” (someone actually said that to me, that is not a generic example). For me, it’s a way of life, and one that is accessible to everyone, not just academics. What Teresa has wrote above is brilliantly and blindingly true; here, in this space, we can examine books freely, sinking our teeth where we will, handing them off to each other, and having discussions where (le gasp!) we might not agree with each other but we respect each other’s points of view.”

    I hate to quote that entire section, but I have to because it explains, front-to-back (start-to-finish?) what I think about the whole thing, too. I’m trained to think critically about literature, but I try to think deeply about everything. That obviously comes across in my own reviews/blog posts, etc., but you’re right – there’s a place for all kinds of personalities here! And we’re all the better for it.

    • It’s so important to think deeply about everything. I had a wonderful conversation with my friend Anna about I Love You Philip Morris; she was tentative to discuss it with me, because I liked it more than she did, but it’s totally possible to have fulfilling and thought-provoking conversations while respecting each other’s viewpoints!

  2. Love Teresa’s words! This is a welcoming community, we have our troubles, but we are supportive, as you suggest yourself. I once started critiquing the first episode of a new tv series with my sister, a whole conversation over and the opening credits hadn’t finished – you keep that critical theory up, it’s awesome🙂 I agree, we do respect views and everyone is allowed to say what they want, and that is the best.

  3. Thank you, Clare, highlighting my post! I really do love that anyone can join this community. You’re so right that critical reading need not be confined to academics, but before I discovered blogging, I didn’t really have an outlet for that kind of thinking. Blogging has filled that gap beautifully, and it’s fun to see what ideas others come up with!

  4. Wow, that’s a great quote! It’s great that anyone can join and share their passion without having to get qualified and become an expert. Of course now some book bloggers have been doing it so long they are something of book experts!

  5. Yesx1000000000. That’s so incredibly true about book blogging. We are all on equal footing, no matter our credentials. Thank you so much for sharing this post. I hadn’t seen it.

Your Thoughts?

