Booking Through Thursday: Branching Out

Name a book you love in a genre you normally don’t care for. What made you decide to read it? Did it make you want to try more in that genre?

What genre do you avoid reading and why?

Hey, that’s four questions!

As the name of my blog and self-appointed title suggests, I’m a literary omnivore. I will and do read anything, if I think it’s worth a shot.  That qualification is usually based on whether or not the story sounds interesting, not genre, which I define more as setting than anything else, although I am currently coming to grips with the fact that there’s more to it than that, but those don’t apply to my taxonomy. I don’t avoid any books.

That said, I’m not overly fond of “urban fantasy”, which is actually an awful misnomer for supernatural fiction (assuming fantasy means secondary world with or without magic, which is how I define it, urban fantasy would be something like The Lies of Locke Lamora—fantasy with a focus in urban environments) or mysteries that aren’t Sherlock Holmes. I’ve been burned before, but I still maintain my faith that any story is possible of being amazing. In the supernatural fiction camp, I’m awfully fond of Michael Thomas Ford’s Jane Bites BackIn the mystery camp, I really liked Farthing and The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, both alternate history mysteries.

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Branching Out

  1. I do think you should give every book a chance because it might really surprise you, as the YA novel I chose did. But with some genres, the plots just never seem to work for me. I think it’s great though that you read almost everything!🙂 Thanks for sharing!
    My BTT
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  2. I’m almost the same in that I do tend to read just about anything, but there are some genres I don’t really like. I guess I can’t say I’m a true “literary omnivore” then! But I try to keep an open mind and will try almost any genre at least once just in case it’s good; I don’t want to miss out on an awesome read! 🙂

  3. Agree with you completely about The Yiddish Policeman’s Union–a wonderful novel. As your former English professor, however, I must object to “I still maintain my faith that any story is possible of being amazing.” Block those unnecessary prepositional phrases! Don’t convolute–be resolute in your commitment to active voice constructions. So ends my mini-grammar sermon.

Your Thoughts?

