The Literary Horizon: Bitten

Bitten by Kelley Armstrong

Elena Michaels is the world’s only female werewolf. And she’s tired of it. Tired of a life spent hiding and protecting, a life where her most important job is hunting down rogue werewolves. Tired of a world that not only accepts the worst in her–her temper, her violence–but requires it. Worst of all, she realizes she’s growing content with that life, with being that person.

So she left the Pack and returned to Toronto where she’s trying to live as a human. When the Pack leader calls asking for her help fighting a sudden uprising, she only agrees because she owes him. Once this is over, she’ll be squared with the Pack and free to live life as a human. Which is what she wants. Really.

via the author’s website

I’m not usually into supernatural fiction; a lot of the time, I feel like it falls prey to the spectre of soul-crushing formula that clings like a fog to mysteries and romances. (Sidebar: both of these are marketed towards women. Have I internalized something awful about the worth of what women read, or am I responding only to its critical flaws? Intriguing!) However, I love werewolves. Big Wolf on Campus was the best, and I’m currently watching Teen Wolf. While I’m wildly unfond of the idea that female werewolves are rare and unnatural (I guess hair and teeth and violence aren’t as glam as vampirism? I don’t even know), this has landed on my list, and I’m willing to give it a shot.

Nicola at Alpha Heroes enjoyed it, finding that it plays with the romance formula and explores deeper themes. Sarah at Smart Bitches, Trashy Books absolutely loves it; she points out that Elena’s status as the only female werewolf is a way for Armstrong to explore the realm of female violence. MizB at Should Be Reading didn’t care for it. The proprietor of Rhapsody in Books enjoyed it, especially its intelligence.

Bitten was published on June 10, 2010.

2 thoughts on “The Literary Horizon: Bitten

  1. Here’s what I love about Kelley Armstrong. She writes about a whole lot of different paranormals, and I never feel like it’s “stupid” as I do when reading so many others. Her characters are so fully developed and nuanced, and her women are superbly capable and brave without being unpleasant. I would also recommend her non-paranormal books, the Nadia Stafford series. If you like strong women, she is an excellent author!

Your Thoughts?

