The Literary Horizon: The Right Stuff

The Right Stuff by Tom Wolfe

From “America’s nerviest journalist” (Newsweek)–a breath-taking epic, a magnificent adventure story, and an investigation into the true heroism and courage of the first Americans to conquer space. “Tom Wolfe at his very best” (The New York Times Book Review)

via Amazon

As the daughter of an Air Force family, my utter lack of interest in aeronautics might seem odd, but, for some reason, this has ended up on my reading list. I’ve never read Wolfe before, so I only really know him from the crippling envy I felt in high school because he wore white suits and I did not. (I’m not saying wee Clare was rational. I’m just saying she knew what she wanted.)

Teresa at Shelf Love enjoyed it, and thinks it has appeal for people who aren’t even interested in the early days of the space program (like me!). The Unruly Reader at her self-titled digs absolutely adores it, especially the writing style. Sassymonkey at Sassymonkey Reads liked it fine, but found that the film adaptation really captures the book. The Brothers Judd think Tom Wolfe is a genius, so they dug this too.

The Right Stuff was published in 1979.

4 thoughts on “The Literary Horizon: The Right Stuff

  1. I read this when I was 11. I guess I go against the other bloggers because I don’t remember liking it all that much…but I was 11, so I’m not sure if that was a fair assessment.

Your Thoughts?

