Booking Through Thursday: Guilty Pleasure

What book(s) have you read that you’re secretly ashamed to admit?

I don’t believe in being ashamed of things I’ve watched or read; I loved Rock of Ages and I haven’t read a good book yet for my Jane Eyre thesis. I felt awful enough about being a fan as a kid that I’m not going to waste any more time on that. Bookish shame is the first step down the road that ends up in separating “genre fiction” from “real fiction”, and I think we all know how I feel about that. (If you do not: I shall someday spontaneously develop the ability to breathe fire when someone says, “Oh, it’s genre fiction” in that infuriating tone.)

This said, the one book series that I enjoy that I haven’t told y’all about are the Gossip Girl books—not because I’m ashamed, but rather because it’s never come up. A friend of mine lent me one or three in high school, which I read in a mere matter of hours. They haven’t got decent characterization or good stories, but they do have a formula that makes them addictive, so I found myself reading and reading and reading. I’ve only read those three, but I understand the power of that series ands its eleventy-billion spin-offs. Hats off to von Ziegesar and her ghostwriter(s).

10 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Guilty Pleasure

Your Thoughts?

