Booking Through Thursday: Pet Names

Do you have any pet that has a name inspired by your readings?

If not, what would you pick if you DID?

Do any of your friends have book-based names for their pets? (Or their children?)

My family dog’s name is Charlemagne Alaric Jack West (…I was ten!), but my mom really was the one who picked out Charlemagne. So no, not really. A lot of the names I am hyper-attached to tend to come out of other media, for whatever reason (for instance, my computer’s name is Demora Pasha, after Sulu’s daughter and a possible nickname for Chekov), although I’ve been getting very fond of Gilraen as of late. But I tend to only name inanimate objects that; my inability to bestow names on living creatures aside, naming someone after someone or something else is a very powerful thing. I’m a namesake (County Clare, Ireland), and that’s a much different thing than being named Claire arbitrarily. I can only imagine what it’s like when you’re named after a (hopefully) fully realized character.

As for other people naming pets and children after book characters… I do know of a girl named Eowyn, but I don’t think I’ve ever met her.

13 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Pet Names

  1. My kindle’s name is Argus (from Odyssey) and my dog’s name is Oliver (from Dickens, Shakespeare and a dozen other books). I love using literary names for things.

  2. One of my cats is named Amelia, after Amelia Bedelia, the kid’s book character, though I didn’t name her that. (I adopted Amelia when a friend had to give her up.) I always thought if I got a cat, I’d name her Meerclar after the cat entity in Michael Moorcock’s Elric series. Oh, and my brother has an African Gray parrot named, what else, Gandalf the Gray.

  3. My daughter is named Ronja after the novel by Astrid Lindgren (Ronia, the Robber’s Daughter (we spell it Ronja in Denmark and Sweden)). My dog is named after a song, not a book, she’s named Kayleigh after a song by the Scottish band Marillion.

Your Thoughts?

