The Literary Horizon: In Me Own Words, Monster High

There are a few things on my reading list that are so silly that I generally keep pretty quiet about them. But while I’m toiling away today moving out of Agnes and panicking about the GRE, I thought we’d take a minute and look at some of my sillier selections, because I’m about to be knee-deep in Jane Eyre and related writings. And both are related by their use of mythological creatures! So there’s that.

In Me Own Words by Graham Roumieu

America’s favorite crypto-zoological hominid is hilariously recast as the modern-day everyman, struggling with eating disorders, casual cannibalism, pop culture, and philosophical quandaries (“Me once believe in good. Now, no. World go shit, just like Bigfoot screenwriting career”).

via Amazon

This has been one of the oldest recommendations on my list. I imagine I must have stumbled across it in middle school and, so taken by Bigfoot’s internal life, added it to an Amazon wishlist. Since then, it’s migrated with me all the way to my handy-dandy spreadsheet. There are children who can talk younger than my desire to read this book, people.

Your Neighborhood Librarian found it absolutely hilarious; John Martz at Drawn, while reviewing the second installment, gives a similar impression.

In Me Own Words was published on June 1, 2003.

Monster High by Lisi Harrison

From Lisi Harrison, the New York Times bestselling author of The Clique and Alphas, comes a new series with a fresh twist on high school, romance, and the “horrors” of trying to fit in. 

The monster community has kept a low profile at the local high school, but when two new girls enroll, the town will never be the same. Created just fifteen days ago, Frankie Stein is psyched to trade her father’s formaldehyde-smelling basement lab for parties and prom.

But with a student body totally freaked out by rumors of monsters stalking the halls, Frankie learns that high school can be rough for a chic freak like her. She thinks she finds a friend in fellow new student Melody Carver-but can a “normie” be trusted with her big secret?

via Amazon

In the recommendation column for this on the spreadsheet, it just says “FOR SHAME”. I really love the Monster High doll line and franchise—cute monster girls learning about friendship! It’s like My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic except sometimes someone gets eaten!—and I think I added this to the list in a frenzy of looking for information on the latest additions to the dolls. This is the only item on the list I feel a little weird about, but it’s time to own it. (Werewolves in tuxedos! Russian yeti girls! Silly teenage sitcom problems solved by removing one’s limbs! Mmm, sugar horror.)

Madigan at Madigan Reads really enjoyed it, although the constant namebrand dropping gets tiresome; Michelle at That’s What She Read came away with a similar impression.

Monster High was published on September 1, 2010.

Your Thoughts?

