The Literary Horizon: Fangland, Feed

Every week (well, Monday, let’s be honest), I do try and pair together two books for The Literary Horizon; not only is it snappy, it helps me track themes and motifs in my reading. But I was seriously considering switching this feature to a single book—which might still happen!—until I stumbled across one incredibly specific pairing. Let’s take a look at two novels that mix creatures of the night with the news media, shall we?

Fangland by John Marks

As the popularity of Elizabeth Kostova’s bestselling The Historian proves, there’s always an audience bloodthirsty for quality, page-turning horror. Now, in a marvelously horrifying turn, John Marks-a former 60 Minutes producer-sinks his satirical teeth into twenty-first- century media. In Fangland, Evangeline Harker is an employee of the legendary TV news magazine The Hour. Sent on assignment to Transylvania, she delivers more than a story when mysterious e-mails, coffins, and a creepy guy named Torgu descend on the New York office. This darkly funny tale will appeal to vampire and horror aficionados as well as anyone who’s fed up with what passes for “news” today.

via Amazon

I’m between audiobooks at the moment, so I’ve been catching up on Writing Excuses. In one episode (I forget which one—I can usually cram three to four of their podcasts into my strength training), their Book of the Week was Fangland, and it sounded interesting enough!

The Literary Lollipop enjoyed it, although they found the female protagonist a little wearying; Melody at Melody’s Reading Corner enjoyed it, but she couldn’t connect with the characters.

Fangland was published on January 11, 2007.

Feed by Mira Grant

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beat the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED.

NOW, twenty years after the Rising, Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives-the dark conspiracy behind the infected. The truth will out, even if it kills them.

via Amazon

Feed has been on my list for quite some time. There was a phase a few years ago when zombies were flooding the market, and this is one of the few recommendations I pulled out. Zombies both fascinate and repulse me, and adding a twisted political campaign on top? Sounds good.

Graeme at Graeme’s Fantasy Book Review enjoyed it, although he felt the setting was focused on moreso than the story and characters; Kristen at Fantasy Book Cafe also liked it, although she felt the characterization was a little flat.

Feed was published on May 1, 2010.

4 thoughts on “The Literary Horizon: Fangland, Feed

  1. There’s also “Feed” by M.T. Anderson which I would heartily recommend. Not about vampires, though. I would recommend everything he’s written, including middle reader.

  2. I haven’t read any of her Mira Grant books yet, but Seanan Mcguire’s just-released “Discount Armageddon” is a highly entertaining kick-ass romp of a book, and I love her October Daye series as well. She’s quite an inventive writer, and keeps one of the most interesting blogs I’ve seen from an authour. I look forward to seeing what you think of “Feed”.

Your Thoughts?

