Booking Through Thursday: Recommendation

If someone asked you for a book recommendation, what is the FIRST book you’d think to recommend (without extra thought)?

I’m actually asked this a lot—not because people on the street are desperate for my opinion (as if!), but because a lot of English classes, at least here, open with “So, tell us your name, your year, your major, and your favorite book/a book you think we should read!”. And ever since I read it, it’s been The Magician’s Book. I even have a little pitch for it:

“It’s about a woman who loved The Chronicles of Narnia as a kid, and then felt betrayed when she found out about the Christian allegory as an agnostic teenager, and this is her returning to the series as an atheistic adult. But it’s really about our relationship to stories, especially when we’re children versus when we’re adults. It’s so good. It’s in the library if anyone wants it.”

It’s in my college library because I put it there. I don’t have to worry about people frowning and going, “Oh, I don’t read genre fiction” (someday, I will learn to breathe fire, if only to do so when people tell me such a foolish thing), it appeals to pretty much anyone who likes to read, and Laura Miller is awesome. So what are you waiting for? Go check it out!

12 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Recommendation

  1. That sounds interesting! My list of books to read keeps growing. (Meanwhile I’m just now reading the first Harry Potter book.)

    My knee-jerk recommendation is Steinbeck’s The Grapes of Wrath… but I need to work on my pitch. “What’s it about?” “You don’t know?! Well, it’s really good. See, this family travels across the country. And people hate them. It’s just really, really good. He uses the word ‘and’ a lot in his writing, which is really cool.”

    (That was a reference to my senior thesis paper, in which I tried to analyze Steinbeck’s grammar and explain how it enhances the story.)

    Basically, I’m more likely to scare people away from my favorite book than encourage them to read it. Oops.

    • Oh, fantastic! Sorry I haven’t gotten around to your comments, I usually sit down and respond to ’em all in a batch sometime during the week.

      Your senior thesis sounds fascinating! I’m not scared at all.

  2. Love this post (and this question)! I don’t know what I’m waiting for with Magician’s Book, honestly — it’s on my shelves! I need only pick it up!

Your Thoughts?

