Challenge: The Lord of the Rings Readalong, Part #2

I have a terrible confession to make, fellow readers–I have not started The Fellowship of the Ring. Dorothy Dunnett’s King Hereafter has consumed my reading life and threatens to do so for the foreseeable future, and I promised myself I wouldn’t read The Fellowship of the Ring until I finished King Hereafter. I’m a little put out that my reading diet for February will consist of two books, but c’est la vie. Hopefully, you are faring much, much better than I am, so let’s take stock of where we are halfway through The Fellowship of the Ring!

I haven’t left The Fellowship of the Ring completely untouched, I have to say–I’ve read the prologue, which covers everything you need to know about hobbits, their ways, and the events of The Hobbit. I’ve been a little hesitant about The Fellowship of the Ring‘s writing style, as plenty of people have told me that they prefer the avuncular tone of The Hobbit, but the prologue is a comfortable link between the two. While it’s not as cheeky, it’s comfortable, accessible, and doesn’t take itself deadly serious. For some reason, I’ve always pegged The Lord of the Rings as occasionally difficult reading, but I don’t think that view will hold–after all, I developed it when I was a wee lass of ten.

I’m sure most of you are miles ahead of me, so I want to know what you think! If you feel up to a progress update, here are some questions to get you started.

  1. If you’ve been with us since the beginning, how do you feel about the narrator compared to the narrator in The Hobbit?
  2. How’s your pace going? Is it smooth sailing or have you found passages that are difficult to get through?
  3. If you’ve read this series before, is The Fellowship of the Ring, for the most part, as you remembered? If not, is it what you expected or something else?
  4. Are you using any of the extra features–maps and indexes, for instance–in your book?

Once you’ve written up a post, you can share it below.

I’m planning to rewatch all the films in May, after my exams, with some friends, and I was wondering if anybody else in the challenge would like to do the same to cap the readalong. This is totally optional, of course–I’ve been threatening to do a rewatch for ages, and this is as good a time as any. If you’re game, tell me with a comment or an e-mail. It should be great fun!

Happy reading, all!

22 thoughts on “Challenge: The Lord of the Rings Readalong, Part #2

  1. I’ll definitely be doing the rewatch in May! It’ll be an excellent way to cap off the semester. I don’t know if I’ll be able to find anyone brave enough to watch all of the extended versions with me in a marathon, like I want, but …

    I shall go it alone if I have to!

    And I’ll get my post up about this pronto.

      • Certainly true! I look forward to it either way.

        I just saw that they’re releasing the theatrical versions on bluray at the end of April! Just in time to watch. But I want to watch the extended versions, so it looks like my luck ran out …

        Anyway, I got my post up about my read-along!

  2. I’d say Dunnett is a great excuse for neglecting Tolkien. When I’m immersed in one of her books I can think of little else, but they do take a while to get through.

    I’m not sure if I’ll do a rewatch of the movies in May. I’m tempted, but I might decide I want to let Tolkien’s version of the story sit in my head for a while before giving the movies a chance to take over. We’ll see how I feel when May gets here.

  3. Pingback: Update on Fellowship « Jenny's Books

  4. Pingback: Overcoming Sleep « Tall Tales

  5. Pingback: Gaskella’s Midweek Miscellany #3 « Gaskella

  6. I’ve been enjoying The Fellowship so far, much more than the first time round! I’m planning of watching the films too! But, I don’t think I can wait til May – was going to watch one after each book was completely read. I might do all the extended versions in May – that would be a way to end the challenge with a bang!

  7. I got a late start with this book but I am finally moving onto the second half.

    I am planning on watching the movies at the end of the readalong as well. I can’t wait to see if I view them differently once have read the books.

  8. I haven’t read these books in a few years (and I’ve seen the movies more recently- I love the Rifftrax of FotR and TTT), so I’m really enjoying finding bits of the story that I’d forgotten about. 🙂 I’m about halfway through right now, and some of the things I’d forgotten about were how cool the elf Gildor is (I wish he’d been a main character!) and how smart Merry is (now I remember why he’s my favorite character!).

  9. I have to say, I feel a bit better knowing you haven’t started yet! I am only 50 pages in – but for some reason I am finding it an easier read than The Hobbit. I will post something later this week, once I am a bit further in.

    Have to say, I have the film in my mind while reading it… and can’t wait to rewatch!

  10. Pingback: LOTR: The Fellowship of the Ring – Book Two « Gaskella

Your Thoughts?

