The Week in Review: September 1, 2013

Calendar

So things have been changing around The Literary Omnivore as of late. I dropped The Literary Horizon and Booking Through Thursday as features when they began to feel like chores instead of joy a few weeks ago, and now, The Sunday Salon is the latest casualty of my new approach to blogging. As a meme and as a point around which to structure my blog, the Sunday Salon has been invaluable, but it hasn’t been working out for me as an awkward collection of both a opinion piece and my ever-increasing weekly link round-up. The solution? Split that up. Opinion pieces, like my post about femmephobia and The Hunger Games, will still happen, but, since they’re often response pieces, they’ll be posted when they’re topical. I haven’t hashed out a schedule for that yet, but I imagine such pieces will go up on Saturdays. Sundays will be reserved for taking a look at the week that was—in my life, the links I want to share, and in the damage down to the old reading list. After all, this blog is, first and foremost, my reading journal!

Now that I’ve established the new world order, let’s get started, shall we?

Bookselling continues to be amazing, and, now that I have my library card, Denver is quite livable! I’m still getting used to how West it is, but I did spend part of my childhood in California, so some of it is coming back to me. My reading has been improving. This week, I’ve knocked out Escape from Communist Heaven, Yes Means Yes!, Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. I’ve started on Gail Carriger’s Soulless for a ladies’ speculative fiction book club I’ve joined, which I’m quite looking forward to.

Links

While on WTF with Marc Maron, Simon Pegg points out that there’s no mainstream feminine version of “bromance” because women are “allowed” to show their platonic friends actual affection and that the concept can trivialize meaningful male friendships.

Over at the Hub, YALSA’s blog, Molly Wetta runs over a good selection of young adult novels featuring queer characters.

Paul Dini and Joe Quinones are working together on a title featuring Black Canary and Zatanna teaming up against an undead lady villain! Baby steps back towards being decent, DC, baby steps. (Although if the rumors about Timothy Dalton playing Alfred to Ben Affleck’s Batman are true, I will see it opening day.)

Mallory Ortberg at the Toast envisions a world where harassing someone on the street has unexpected, magical, and negative consequences. As a childhood devotee of Pretty Pretty Princess, the last suggestion is my favorite.

The three hundredth issue of the New York Review of Science Fiction is free! Take it out for a spin and consider subscribing.

Karishma at Persephone Magazine lists forty-five actresses of color in speculative fiction.

J. K. Rowling misses Dumbledore.

Lifehack illustrates ten sentences that can change your life. “People aren’t against you; they are for themselves” is particularly illuminating, given my tendency to paranoia.

Lifehacker has posted its semesterly round-up of free online courses you can take. I’ve signed up for Harvard’s Science & Cooking course, as well as Unlocking the Immunity to Change. Join me!

Patrick Stewart teaches us the way of the quadruple take; Ian McKellen plays Magneto with the Golden Gate Bridge. I’ve decided—they are my spirit granddads.

DC, in its continuing campaign of self-sabotage, has defanged Lobo, their deranged biker answer to Marvel’s Deadpool. Kelly Turnpool, of Manly Guys Doing Manly Things, points out that “promising to take the hypermasculine comedy out of a hypermasculine satire character” defeats the purpose of said character. (Warning: the comic includes a beheading.)

Leo Babauta at zenhabits asks us to reconsider our notions of what food is “supposed” to taste like when attempting to broaden our palettes.

Jack Kirby’s birthday was this past week. The A.V. Club presents a primer to the comic legend’s work.

My first impression of this song was “huh?” with a side of “wow, Richard Simmons looks good in drag”. It has since grown on me, especially since its dictate to get a cute, girly hairstyle covers everything from dreadlocks to buzz cuts. Genderqueering!

Autostraddle teaches us how to make metallic cutouts to decorate your room without damaging the walls. Perfect for rentals!

My sudden ability to see attraction and rejection as a mere matter of appetite and taste and misinformation transformed my view of the world.” Ask Polly schools us all, as usual.

So the VMAs happened. Racialicious discusses the backlash against Miley Cyrus, rejecting the slut-shaming while examining Cyrus’ appropriation of black culture, while Feministing covers why the correct response to discussing her actions isn’t “UGH, SHOULDN’T WE BE TALKING ABOUT SOMETHING MORE IMPORTANT?”

io9 ponders why live-action fantasy films are rarely successful at the box office. Charlie Jane Anders concludes that magic systems you can’t hook into, high budgets, and the pull of the franchise are the major causes.

tumblr blog medievalpoc recommends fantasy novels featuring characters of color.

Grantland ponders a sitcom featuring Bill Hader’s Stefon and discusses the successful elements of a sketch character versus a sitcom character versus a film character.

The A.V. Club’s new feature, Internet Film School, began this past week.

Captain Awkward tackles the question of what to do when your passion for a project wears out. In short: finish it. The difference between a aspiring writer and the worst published writer is that the latter finished it. She cites the above Ira Glass quote in the post.

Stan Lee’s sweet note to a female fan in the sixties encouraging her to ignore the haters is better than comics’ perspective on female consumers today.

Alex Andreou takes Jamie Oliver to task at The Guardian for judging low-income families’ diet and nutrition by pointing out how poverty can be a world of no and how the culinary industry is largely aspirational.

Autostraddle covers the sickening case where a teacher convicted of statutory rape will serve thirty days, while his victim has committed suicide. As the title says, this is rape culture.

tumblr user it-varys recasts Pacific Rim with all ladies. Cate Blanchett as Hera Hansen is amazing.

Diversity in YA highlights young adult novels featuring trans characters.

Nikki and Nora, an unaired pilot about a lesbian couple who work as private investigators in New Orleans, is being expanded into a webseries!

J.J. Abrams’ alternate Star Trek universe gets even worse when you realize that Uhura’s uniform in no way indicates her rank.

Acquisitions

Purchased: None
Added: The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (via io9), The House of Zeor by Jacqueline Lichtenberg (via Star Trek Lives!), Harry Potter and the Millennials by Anthony Gierzynski (via Fanlore), Kirby: King of Comic by Mark Evanier (via the AV Club), King’s Dragon by Kate Elliot (via tumblr), Acacia by David Anthony Durham (via tumblr), The New York Diaries edited by Teresa Carpenter (via work), The Mist-Torn Witches by Barb Hendee (via work), Ibn Fadlan and the Land of Darkness by Ibn Fadlan (via work), The American Way of Eating by Tracy McMillan (via The Guardian), The Shadow of the Torturer by Gene Wolf (via The A.V. Club), A History of Ancient Egypt by John Romer (via tor.com), and The Making of the Trek Conventions by Joan Winston (via tumblr)

Tell me about your week in review!

8 thoughts on “The Week in Review: September 1, 2013

  1. Drop whatever doesn’t work for you is definitely the right approach to blogging :D I like the idea of a Week in Review feature – Sundays are good days for links, I feel, as people tend to peruse them leisurely over a lazy cup of tea or coffee. Looking forward to your thoughts on all the books you read this week!

  2. I have rejected offers to blog for various websites or to have my blog be part of same because the blog is the place where I just want to talk about things I like to read and watch. I don’t want it to be a chore or to be a place for professional articles. I also warn folks who want to send me books to review that I only review things I like, so no review means, yeah, I didn’t like your book and probably didn’t finish it. So write on, about what you want to talk about and don’t feel like you have to talk about anything particular on a given day. As Bob Ross says, it’s your world. Oh, and I liked Timothy Dalton as Bond.

  3. Such a good link round-up! I love that Simon Pegg said that about male friendships. It always seems so unfair that friendships are (relatively) trivialized in comparison with romantic and familial relationships, and for men particularly there’s not a great pop cultural vocabulary for talking about important friendships. That sucks for men.

    • Oh, yeah. That’s why I liked Pacific Rim so much—its lead opposite sex couple save the world with the power of friendship and that relationship is placed on the same level as family and romantic relationships. And if you don’t have the vocabulary to discuss something, you’ll never examine it or value it, you know?

Your Thoughts?

